Northeast Regional Science Fair held at Wayne State College


March 25, 2024 (WAYNE, Neb.) – Eighty-one students from five area schools competed during the Nebraska Junior Academy of Science’s (NJAS) Northeast Regional Science Fair held March 22 at Wayne State College.

Twelve students received invitations to NJAS’s State Science Fair on April 18.

Schools participating in the event were Allen Consolidated Schools, Lyons-Decatur Northeast School, Newman Grove Junior/Senior High School, Oakland-Craig Junior/Senior High School and Wayne Community Schools.

As an affiliate of the Nebraska Academy of Sciences, the NJAS seeks to stimulate science education and to encourage young people to become involved in science, according to the NJAS handbook.

Area students who competed at the Science Fair include:

The 12 state qualifiers are listed and so are the two alternate state qualifiers:

Allen Consolidated Schools

Tucker Anderson (Alternate – State Qualifier); Grace Ankeny; Kaelyn Ankeny (State Qualifier); Aybree Graves; Kristina Hogue; Leah Johnson; Logan Kraemer; Carter McNear; Hailey Millard; Ellise Niemann; Hank Niemann; Erika Pojar; Cora Ridenour; Carlee Stanley and Emma Webb.

Wayne Community Schools

Zoe Bolles, Kamden Dobbins, Isaac Fowle, Callen Gamble, Isaiah Hansen, Elizabeth Hix, Dreu Jensen, Gracyn Johnson, Alivia Kesting, Madilyn Korth, Daniel Kuchta (State Qualifier), Grady Maas (State Qualifier), Lainey Meyer, Sidney Nelson (State Qualifier), Hunter Nolte, Kyler Parker, Liam Rockhill, Kynlee Schmale, Brayden Stegemann, Myles Tiedtke and Landon Woehler.