STATE BASEBALL – Wayne eliminated in Class B Juinors state tourney


SIDNEY – Seven errors proved to be Wayne’s undoing as McCook came back to post a 4-3 win in an elimination game Sunday at the American Legion Class B Juniors state tournament at Legino Park.
Brennan O’Reilly singled and scored on a Justin Dean single to right to get Wayne on the board in the first inning. McCook tried to tie the game in the top of the third, but Mason Lee gunned down a runner on a shot to center field, getting Post 43 Juniors pitcher Tyler Lutt out of the jam.
Another defensive miscue led to McCook’s run to tie the game in the fourth inning, but Zane Jackson helped Wayne regain the lead in the bottom of the inning as he took the first pitch over the wall in right field for a solo home run. Dean was hit by a pitch and scored on a Tucker Nichols sacrifice fly to give Wayne a 3-1 lead after four innings.
Two Wayne errors helped McCook tie the game again in the fifth, and two more errors in the sixth led to another McCook run. McCook looked to add another run, but an appeal at third base was successful as the runner left early on a sacrifice fly, turing a go-ahead run by McCook into a double play for Wayne and Wayne got out of a huge jam.
Wayne had one last chance in the seventh, as Beau Bowers snaked a two-out single into center to get the rally started. Pinch-hitter Payten Gamble hit a hard grounder to short, but McCook got the final out to end Wayne’s season with a 29-6 record.
Saturday, July 16
Game 1 -
Hickman 7, McCook 2

Game 2 - Waverly 6, Wayne 0

Game 3 - Seward 2, Alliance 0

Game 4 - Mt. Michael 2, Sidney 1

Sunday, July 17
Game 5 -
McCook 4, Wayne 3 (Wayne eliminated)

Game 6 - Alliance vs. Sidney, 2 p.m.

Game 7 - Hickman vs. Waverly, 5 p.m.

Game 8 - Seward vs. Mt. Michael, 8 p.m.

Monday, July 18
Game 9 -
Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 7, 1 p.m.

Game 10 - Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 8, 4 p.m.

Game 11 - Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, July 19
Game 12 -
Winner Game 9 vs. Loser Game 11, 4 p.m.

Game 13 - Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 11, 7 p.m.
(NOTE: Tuesday's schedule may change if teams have already played one another. If three teams remain after Game 13, winner of Game 11 goes to Game 15.)

Wednesday, July 20
Game 14 -
Championship game, 5 p.m.

Game 15 - If needed, 30 minutes after completion of Game 14