Wayne keeps runner-up trophy in home Blue Machine Invitational


Weather pushed the rejuvenated Blue Machine Invitational wrestling tournament back a few days, which helped draw more teams to Thursday’s tournament and made for a solid day of wrestling action going into the holiday break.

The Wayne High wreslters had four champions and finished the day with eight medalists to finish second in the 12-team tournament. Crofton/Bloomfield scored 143 points to Wayne’s 131.5 points to take home the first-place trophy.

Cameron Muhs and Mikey Reyes both went through their brackets unscathed to earn titles at 120 and 220 pounds, respectively. Muhs stayed undefeated on the season and earned a 15-5 major decision over Jeremiah Kruntorad of Pierce in his first-place match, while Reyes dominated Kaden Henry of Wisner-Pilger in a 6-0 shutout win.

Gage Schultz and Hunter Jorgensen also won individual titles, both wrestling in pool play with a limited number of wrestlers in their respective weight brackets. Both wrestlers pinned their way to first place, with Schultz winning at 126 pounds and Jorgensen taking top honors at heavyweight.

Berto Vergara lost an exciting overtime match to finish second at 195 pounds. Fourth-place medals went to Quintin Bilheimer (106), Juan Vergara (132) and Cade Janke (195).

Wakefield finished fifth and Winside was eighth in the team race and both had individual champions. Cody Thomas stayed undefeated for the Trojans with a first-place finish at 182 pounds to highlight the Trojans' five-medal haupl, while Winside 106-pounder Koby Ellis won a 7-0 decision to bring home the lone Wildcats’ individual title and lead four medalists.

Blue Machine Invitational
Team Standings

Crofton/Bloomfield 143
Wayne 131.5
Creighton 120
Pierce 101.5
Wakefield 87
Stanton 80
Wisner-Pilger 65
Winside 63
Clarkson/Leigh 54
Archbishop Bergan 36
Scribner-Snyder 23
Niobrara/Verdigre 19

Championship Results
Koby Ellis, Winside, dec. Zak Hansen, Stanton, 7-0.
113: Connor Hazen, Creighton, pinned Gavin Lampman, W-P, 2:32.
120: Cameron Muhs, Wayne, maj. dec. Jeremiah Kruntorad, Pierce, 15-5.
126: Gage Schultz, Wayne, pinned Max Boecker, C/B, 2:07. (round robin)
132: Cody Yawn, Pierce, pinned Jacob Johnson, Bergan, 4:55.
138: Derek Wortman, Creighton, pinned Derek Gurnsey, C/L, 1:08.
145: Bryce Zimmerer, Creighton, pinned Isaac Verzani, Wakefield, 1:10.
152: Quinten Moles, C/B, def. Zach Morris, Winside, injury default.
160: Brady Wortman, Creighton, pinned Austin Wicket, Pierce, 1:10.
170: Cooper VonSeggern, W-P, dec. Jaden Janssen, C/B, 6-1.
182: Cody Thomas, Wakefield, pinned Ethan Poppe, C/B, 4:21.
195: Kaleb Johnson, C/B, dec. Berto Vergara, Wayne, 11-9 (SV).
220: Mikey Reyes, Wayne, dec. Kaden Henry, W-P, 6-0.
285: Hunter Jorgensen, Wayne, pinned Jared Hornback, C/B, 2:34. (round robin)

Consolation Results
Tay Guill, Wakefield, pinned Quintin Billheimer, Wayne, :35.
113: Damon Crawford, S-S, pinned Colby Harney, C/L, 1:57.
120: Gage Klug, Stanton, pinned Mathew Fredrick, Winside, 4:11.
126: Hector Mendoza, C/L, pinned Edward Olander, Winside, 1:15. (round robin)
132: Reece McFarland, C/B, pinned Juan Vergara, Wayne, 4:57.
138: Levi Honeywell, C/B, pinned Josh McMillen, S-S, 2:21.
145: Brody Peters, Pierce, pinned Seth Kment, Stanton, 4:54.
152: Clay Konopasek, N/V, pinned Issiah Borgmann, Stanton, 2:49.
160: Luke Walsh, Wakefield, pinned Branston Gieselman, C/B, 4:30.
170: Levi Stacken, Creighton, def. Mason King, Stanton, injury default.
182: Ryder Fuchs, Pierce, pinned Alec Zimmerer, Creighton, 4:01.
195: Julio Sanchez, Wakefield, pinned Cade Janke, Wayne, 2:08.
220: Eli Simonson, Bergan, pinned Daniel Arriaza, C/L, 1:39.
285: Brody Vrooman, Creighton, unopposed. (round robin)