Wayne State honors athletes at banquet


Wayne State College honored its athletic accomplishments, both on the field and in the classroom, during Monday's annual Honors Banquet at the Frey Conference Suite.
Alyssa Frauendorfer (volleyball) and Bryan Dunn (track and field) were honored as the female and male Athletes of the Year. Frauendorfer earned third-team All-America honors in helping the volleyball team win its first-ever regional title and advance to the Final Four of the NCAA Div. II volleyball tournament. Dunn earned All-American honors in indoor track and field, placing sixth in the weight throw at the Div. II Indoor Nationals.
Freshman Athletes of the Year were football player Taylor Reedy and softball player Emily Chandler. Recipients of the Bob Cunningham Scholar-Athlete and Kelly-Britton NSIC awards were John Davis (football) and Leisa McClintock (volleyball). Women's basketball player and Wayne High graduate Katie Hoskins was honored with the Wildcat Inspiration Award.
Other notable awards presented include:
NSIC Myles Brand Academic With Distinction Awards – David Andersen (men's basketball), Josie Brown, (women's soccer), John Davis (football), Elizabeth Gebhardt (volleyball), Katie Hughes (volleyball), Molly Kingsley (cross country/track and field), Lexie Loos (softball), Leisa McClintock (volleyball), Cassy Miller (softball), Hannah Thayer (women's soccer), Spencer Morris (baseball), Sadie Murren (women's basketball), Natalie Hoppe (women's soccer).
Team MVP's – Matt Thomas (men's basketball), Sadie Murren (women's basketball), Kyndra Sturm (women's field), Kelsey Dietrich (women's track), Lexie Loos (softball), Cody Jenkins (baseball), Kelsey Engstrom (women's soccer), Andrea DeSimone (women's cross country), Justin Brueggemann (men's cross country), Katie Hughes and Cortney VanGronigen (volleyball), Ryan Ludlow (football), Bryan Dunn (men's field), Braxton Adams (men's track).
CHAMPS/Life Skills Team Award – Women's basketball.