Wayne State puts 26 on NSIC All-Academic Team


Wayne State College placed 26 student-athletes on the 2016 Northern Sun Conference Winter All-Academic Team announced Wednesday afternoon by the league office in Burnsville, Minn.
To be eligible, a student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or better. The student-athlete must also have reached sophomore academic and athletic standing at the institution represented with one full year completed at that particular institution.
The women’s indoor track and field team had the most selections for the Wildcats with nine, followed by men’s indoor track and field with seven. Women’s basketball had six selections with men’s basketball receiving four.
The following Wayne State students were honored:
Men’s Basketball: David Andersen, Sr., Lester Prairie, Minn.; Dovydas Burneika, So., Klaipeda, Lithuania; Jordan Cornelius, So., Sisseton, S.D.; J.J. Zumbrennen, So., Elkhorn.
Women’s Basketball: Lauren Davis, Sr., Loveland, Colo.; Sadie Murren, Sr., Colon; Haley Moore, Jr., Milford; Jasmin Bretoi, So., Lino Lakes, Minn.; Kacie O’Connor, So., Sundance, Wyo.; Maggie Schulte, So., Wynot.
Men’s Indoor Track and Field: Nicholas Fly, Sr., Omaha; Derek Lahm, Jr., Columbus; Corbin Lehn, Jr., Shelton; Nick Schmit, Jr., Randolph; Allen Arauz, So., Norfolk; Kole Heller, So., Platte, S.D.; Josh Spenner, So., Columbus.
Women’s Indoor Track and Field: Molly Kingsley, Sr., Bellevue; Ellen Wulf, Sr., Nebraska City; Mary Alderson, Jr., Fremont; Michaela Dendinger, Jr., Coleridge; Andrea DeSimone, Jr., Plattsmouth; Shelby Connett, So., Papillion; Kelsey Dietrich, So., Laurel; Tessa Ives, So., Verdigre; Siera Zach, So., Stanton.