Wayne wins playoff to qualify for state golf


The Wayne boys had three golfers finished in the top 10, but needed two playoff holes to make it a team trip to state.

The Blue Devils tied Bennington for the third and final team spot in B-2 district golf action Wednesday at Wayne Country Club, but outlasted the Badgers in a two-hole playoff to earn the third and final team bid to this week’s Class B State Golf Championships in Scottsbluff.

Mount Michael ran away with the team title with a 307, finishing 38 shots ahead of runner-up Columbus Lakeview’s round of 345. Wayne and Bennington tied for third with a 352.

Mount Michael’s four scoring golfers finished in the top six, with Jacob Goertz firing an even-par 72 and Trevor Gutschewski adding a 73 to place second. Wyatt Torczon was fifth and Sawyer Thompson was sixth, both carding rounds of 81.

Senior Tanner Walling made the most of his final appearance on the home course. The Northeast CC recruit shot a 77 to finish third overall, five shots behind Goertz.
Fellow senior Drew Shapre was ninth overall with an 82 and Bo Armstrong took the 10th spot with an 83.

Rounding out the Blue Devil round was Kyran Bartos with 110 and Cameron Weaselhead with a 116.

Wayne will compete in the Class B State Boys Golf Championships Tuesday and Wednesday in Scottsbluff. Tuesday's tee times for the Blue Devils are as follows:

9:10 a.m. (off Hole 1): Bo Armstrong
9:30 a.m. (off Hole 1): Drew Sharpe
10:20 a.m. (off Hole 1): Tanner Walling
10:40 a.m. (off Hole 10): Camron Weaselhead
10:50 a.m. (off Hole 10): Kyran Bartos

B-2 District at Wayne CC
Team Standings (Top 3 to state)
Mount Michael 307, Columbus Lakeview 345, Wayne 352, Bennington 352, Pierce 356, Boone Central 379, South Sioux City 380, Blair, 383, West Point-Beemer 389, O’Neill 390, Fort Calhoun 400, Schuyler 449.
(NOTE: Wayne defeated Bennington in a two-hole playoff to earn the third qualifying team spot.)
Top 10 State Qualifiers
1. Jacob Goertz, MM, 72. 2. Trevor Gutschewski, MM, 73. 3. Tanner Walling, Wayne, 77. 4. Hunter Myer, Bennington, 80. 5. Wyatt Torczon, MM, 81. 6. Sawyer Thompson, MM, 81. 7. Abram Scholting, Pierce, 82. 8. Easton Chaffee, Blair, 82. 9. Drew Sharpe, Wayne, 82. 10. Bo Armstrong, Wayne, 83.
Area Results
WAYNE — Tanner Walling 77, Drew Sharpe 82, Bo Armstrong 83, Kyran Bartos 110, Cameron Weaselhead 116.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here