Kurmel wins NSIC individual title, team places second


SMITHVILLE, Mo. — Wayne State sophomore Abbey Kurmel claimed individual honors and helped the Wildcat women’s golf team to a runner-up finish in the Northern Sun Conference Women’s Golf Championships that concluded Sunday.

Playing at Paradise Point in Smithville, Mo., the Wildcats came away with the runner-up trophy after finishing ninth a year ago in its first season back after an eight-year suspsension of the program.

The Wildcats trailed only Augustana in the team race, as the Vikings shot a 940 to win its 11th conference title by 53 shots over the Wildcats, who placed three strokes ahead of Upper Iowa for the runner-up trophy.

Kurmel, a sophomore from Okemos, Mich., shot round of 76, 76 and 78 to finish at 14-over par, one stroke ahead of Augustana’s Shannon McCormick and two strokes ahead of Molly Stevens of Augustana.

Kurmel is the first Wildcat to win NSIC medalist honors since Debbie Yahn did it in 1998.

Mekky Winyarat and Jazmine Taylor both finished in the top 15, tying for 12th with rounds of 249.

Also competing were Paige Peters, who tied for 33rd with a 265, and Abby Brodersen, who was 45th overall with a 272 for the 54-hole tournament.

Winyarat was named as the NSIC Women’s Golf Newcomer of the Year and was named second-team All-NSIC as postseason awards were announced after the tournament/

A sophomore from Bangkok, Thailand and a transfer from Dodge City (Kan.) Community College, Winyarat averaged 81.48 over 21 rounds this season, including a best round of 75 during the Wildcat Classic at Wayne Country Club on April 11. Seven of her 21 rounds this season were in the 70’s.

Northern Sun Conference
Team Standings (54 holes)
Augustana 940, Wayne State 993, Upper Iowa 996, Minnesota State 1007, Winona State 1009, Concordia-St. Paul 1019, Southwest Minnesota State 1027, Sioux Falls 1043, Minot State 1049, University of Mary 1109, MSU Moorhead 1137, Minnesota Crookston 1139, Bemidji State 1144.
Wayne State Results (Finish)
Abbey Kurmel 230 (1), Jazmine Taylor 249 (T12), Mekky Winyarat 249 (T12), Paige Peters 265 (T33), Abby Brodersen 272 (45).


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here