Wildcats drop pair of one-run games at Minnesota State


Wayne State suffered a pair of one-run losses at Minnesota State Wednesda, falling 8-7 in eight innings in the opener and 5-4 in the nightcap.
Minnesota State’s Josh Wenzel hit a two-out homer over the wall in center to give the Mustangs the extra-inning win in the first game.
Curtis Bussard's grand slam in the second gave Wayne State a 4-0 lead, but Minnesota State responded with five in the bottom of the third for a 5-4 advantage.
The Wildcats regained the lead in the fourth with two runs on solo homers from Cody Jenkins and Bussard before the Mavericks tied the game in the bottom of the fourth with a run. Wayne State loaded the bases in the seventh and had a chance to win the game in regulation, but couldn't push the go-ahead run across.
In the eighth, Jenkins’ RBI single to left scored Tanner Simons to give the Wildcats the lead. Bussard got the first two batters out in the bottom of the eighth, but a walk set up Wenzel's heroics to give the Mustangs the win.
Bussard, was the losing pitcher and 2-for=4 at the plate with two homers and five RBIs to lead Wayne State's seven-hit attack. Jenkins also had two hits while Simons and Albert Johnson each doubled.
In the nightcap, Minnesota State led 2-0 in the third when Wayne State scored three to take the lead. Bussard's three-run homer scored Jenkins and Brandon Flower to give Wayne State the lead.
Minnesota State tied the game in the third and scored two more in the fourth to take the lead for good. Aaron Krier had an RBI single in the fifth to get Wayne State within a run, but the Wildcats couldn't get the tying run home as they fell to 1-8 in one-run games this season.
Bussard went 2-for-3 to lead a six-hit effort and had three RBI's. Fowler was 2-for-3 and scored twice. Johnson saw his 22-game hitting streak come to an end as he went 0-for-3. Teague McFadden took the loss.
Wayne State (13-26, 10-14 NSIC) concludes the regular season Friday and Saturday with 12 p.m. doubleheaders at Upper Iowa in Fayette, Iowa.